All Topics / Legal & Accounting / Setting up a trust

Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Profile photo of EllenEllen
    Participant
    @ellend

Hi,

I’m relatively new to the property investment world and have read recently (magazine I think), that there are advantages in setting up a trust to purchase residential investment properties. Can anyone help me with more information or tell me where I can find out more?[confused2]

Profile photo of DerekDerek
    @derek

Hi Squeaker,

Suggest you visit http://www.gatherumgoss.com and purchase a copy of Dale’s ‘Trust Magic’ ~$99 but easy to read and informative.

Also receommend a search of the legal and accounting forum to see what else is suggested.

Derek
    [email protected]

Property investment advice and researched property in quality locations available.

Profile photo of smetsmet
    @smet

This topic interests me as well. To my surprise, property investors in Australia seldom talk about setting up a structure such as family trust/company. It adds hassle to the process, true. But in the long run there are numerous benefits.

Problems:

1. Setting up trust/company costs money (tax deductible)

2. Running costs are added – annual accounting, for example

3. Capital gains tax on companies is higher (though not significantly)

Benefits:

1. Company tax is lower than highest bracket of individual tax. (30% vs. 48.5)

2. Your assets are distanced from yourself, therefore protected from litigation.

3. More things are tax deductible in case of a company.

That’s my thoughts. Hope it’s helpful.

Profile photo of EllenEllen
    Participant
    @ellend

Thanks folks – appreciate your help. The book looks interesting – will do some reading and follow-up with accountant.

Cheers
    Squeaker

Profile photo of GreatPigGreatPig
    @greatpig
    Originally posted by smet:

3. Capital gains tax on companies is higher (though not significantly)

What do you consider “significant”?