All Topics / Help Needed! / Am I too Young?

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Profile photo of mkomkomkomko
    @mkomko

Hi everyone,

This may seem trivial to some but am I too young to start investing in property? I am only 19 and I think I will find it hard to secure finance since I’m a full-time student with a casual job. What is the best way to make a start?

Thanks,

Chris.

Profile photo of GramyreGramyre
    @gramyre

If you read this months Australian Property Investor you will see that being young should be no hinderance to investing but sourcing finance without a savings/employment track history can be hard. That’s usually where you need to start thinking about how you can get the bank to take you seriously…..or get them to trust that someone else can cover your debts if you can’t

I know I can, I know I can

Profile photo of foundationfoundation
    @foundation
    Originally posted by Gramyre:

get them to trust that someone else can cover your debts if you can’t

That’s very generous of you![blink]

mkomko, if I was you I would save as much as I could, sit back for 18 months/two years/five years until prices have bottomed out. Negative equity for somebody in your situation (no hedges / no savings / no plan b) will put a stop to your investing future very quickly otherwise. I’m happy to explain further?

Profile photo of brahmsbrahms
    Participant
    @brahms

sorry to sound like your uncle Stan, but….

your doing great!!

convert your full time study to full time profession after graduation

convert your part time work to full time profession (for more details read above)

choose high income earning profession or trade

save, and save

when your mates ‘finance’ into the latest car, let them drive you everywhere but do not buy one your self

save, and save

starting to repeat myself now, just like uncle Stan – you get the drill – no free lunches in life = listen to your uncle Stan

cheers

brahms