All Topics / Finance / Finance for Oversea’s IP – Pros and Cons?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of timstims
    @tims

Hi

I’m new to property investing and thinking about investing in a New Zealand property but haven’t quite grasped what the pro’s and con’s are of either getting finance from a New Zealand lender with the New Zealand investment property as security or using my own home in Oz as security to pay for the property in NZ. An obvious differences at the moment is the higher interests rates in NZ (> 8.5%) but is there is a clear cut answer to this query? [confused2]

Thanks

Tim

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

You could use your property here, using a LOC/redraw to pay cash and then get finance later.

I suppose it depends on how much equity you have and how kee you are at investing. If you just use the Aussie equity, it would be wasted in the long run, as you would have an unencumbered property which could be used to make money.

Terryw
    Discover Home Loans
    Mortgage Broker
    North Sydney
    Click below to email me

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au

Profile photo of Robbie BRobbie B
    @robbie-b

I would tend towards borrowing against your property in Australia to buy the one in NZ if there is enough equity. I would not use a LOC.

Reasons for this…
    * LOC is usually more expensive and there may be tax issues
    * Australian interest rates are lower
    * Cancels out any exchange rate risk on your borrowings (not your rent return)