All Topics / Help Needed! / Absolute Beginner

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of oldchickoldchick
    @oldchick

Hi all

I hope you incredibly knowledgeable people will be tolerant of my absolute lack of knowledge and forgive any stupid questions!!

My partner and I are really at the basics. We have just been clearing the debts from previous relationships etc (a little way still to go) and now want to get started generating some wealth.

We both (him especially) are interested in property but are worried about how long it will take us to save a deposit (we are hardly spring chickens!), especially while we are still paying off some debt.

He has owned property previously so the FHOG is out. How can we get started quickly? Any ideas would be most gratefully received.

Profile photo of Michael WhyteMichael Whyte
    @michael-whyte

Oldchick,

Welcome! I’m sure you’ll get quite a few replies to your question so I might start the ball rolling with my humble 2c…

You’re doing the right thing and clearing your debts is the obvious way to get started. Get yourself bad debt free and then use that spare cash flow to build a little deposit. This will help with your borrowing capacity.

REI is a great way to build wealth, so your partner is on to something here. But its not as easy as it may seem at first glance. There’s a lot of pitfalls for the uneducated and imptuous. While you’re clearing your debts you should start reading up on the topic. Spread your reading across +ve CF and -ve CF so you get both sides of the coin. Then you can decide which approach suits you best. Steve for +ve CF is the obvious choice, and maybe Peter Spann for -ve.

Of course, check back here regularly and read all of the threads…