All Topics / Finance / Rent PPOR or sell?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of willdbcwilldbc
    @willdbc

Hi,
    Excuse my ignorance, I’m new to this so this is probably a simple question. Is the debt on your PPOR treated differently if you eventually move out and rent it as an IP with an interest only loan?

In saying ‘treated differently’, I mean does it still have the tax benefits as a normal IP interest only loan or because you have had it as your PPOR, does it lose the tax benefits?

I’ve heard that it’s probably not a good idea to do this, but rather sell, realise the profit and invest this into multiple IP’s. Any help is appreciated.

Will

Profile photo of Robbie BRobbie B
    @robbie-b

You get Capital Gains Tax benefits if you lived in it but everything else is the same as any normal investment property once you move out.

Robert Bou-Hamdan
    Mortgage Adviser

banner.gif
    http://www.mortgagepackaging.com.au

FREE Finance-Related Newsletter – Click Here

Comments made are of a general nature and should not be construed as individual advice.
    © 2004 Mortgage Packaging Pty Ltd

Profile photo of PropertyGuruPropertyGuru
    Participant
    @propertyguru

If you live in PPOR and moved out you will still get exception from CGT for next 6 years but you need to clarify this with good accountant.

Cheers
    PropertyGuRu [sultan]
    Mortgage Consultant
    [email protected]
    MSN ID: amitash, Yahoo Id: bornguru

NZ loan pre approval from OZ in 48 hours,Low Doc from 6.85%,Investment loan 95%+

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

As long as you don’t buy another PPOR.

I would base the decision on selling on the expected performance of the medium term.

If you want to buy a new PPOR then it might be an idea to sell it and exercise the CGT exemption and move your capital into the new PPOR and borrow 110% for any IPs.

No easy answer I am afraid.

Cheers,

Simon Macks