All Topics / Help Needed! / Questions from a Newbie

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of erratikerratik
    @erratik

Greets All,

I’m new to the property investment game, and I have read both of Steve’s books as well as attended the October 04 Masterclass in Sydney. Money well spent, and a great learning experience it was too.

As Steve recommended at the end of the event, it’s important that I get out there and take action. Now more than ever, I feel the need to do something to shape my future and control my finances.

Procrastination, fear (of failure), and mindset have been holding me back the past few years, but the recent realisation that I don’t want to be working 9-5 to get by for the next 50 years of my life is the why for me wanting to invest.

Having the why, I now need the how, so I would appreciate any assistance with the following questions:

1. I want to start out small, one property at a time, and as such I’m looking at investing in QLD (I live in NSW).

– Where can I obtain information about specific suburbs to target and how much historical data is relevant (eg. 6-18 months or more?).
    – Are reports such as residex beneficial, and worth purchasing, for analysis?

2. I have limited savings (approx. 10-15K), work full-time (30K gross salary) and no assets against my name to borrow against. What are my lending options?

3. I am considering borrowing against the equity in my parents’ home.

– Is that a wise move?
    – How do I do it? and
    – What suggestions do you have for getting the house valued?

I have read in these forums and elsewhere that it’s best to get a valuer that is on the panel for the financial institution that you are intending to borrow from, however I am unsure where to begin in that regard (nor do I know who I want to borrow from at this point).

4. I know building a team of experts (with their own successes in the property investment arena) is key to building a successful investment portfolio.