All Topics / Legal & Accounting / Investment Structure

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of lukebe2lukebe2
    @lukebe2

Hi – I’ve been reading information on these forums about trust/company structures for IP’s. I’m very new to this game. What I pick up from them is a discretionary trust is the best way to go for me initially. But I have a few more questions:
    1. How is there asset protection in a trust?
    2. If yes, is there any reason to incorporate a company since it’s expense and complex?
    3. I can apply for the first home owners grant so thinking about buying individually and then every other property under the trust. Any problems with this or would this be bad?
    4. Some info says Trust are expensive, yet I see them for sale for approx $250 (I find this cheap). Are there any hidden expense I haven’t found yet?

Thankyou,
    Luke

Profile photo of Steve McKnightSteve McKnight
    Keymaster
    @stevemcknight

Hi Lukebe2,

Thanks for your post and welcome to the forums.

1. How is there asset protection in a trust?

It’s a little complicated to explain in one or two sentences, but such a structure allows you to control the asset (and the income from the asset) without actually having to own it in your own name.

As such, if you get sued as an individual, the asset cannot usually be taken as you don’t own it.

2. If yes, is there any reason to incorporate a company since it’s expense and complex?

The idea behind having a corporate trustee is to minimise the liability of the trustee (i.e. it has no assets other than a small amount of cash on hand).

This is not necessarily an absolute must, but it does ‘bed down’ the idea of complete asset protection.

3. I can apply for the first home owners grant so thinking about buying individually and then every other property under the trust. Any problems with this or would this be bad?