All Topics / Finance / Best options starting out (self employed)

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of GromsGroms
    @groms

Hello,

I working on my challenge of financing. A quick run down is: I’m self employed (less than 2 years), no ABN at the moment, and around $40K for deposit. No debts or large assets.

This is my first time in property investing (+ve gearing). I am looking at deals up to the $200K mark but obviously don’t want to blow my cash reserves on just one property.

I am assuming a low doc loan with 80% financing is the way to go. If I have to give a full 20% for the deposit then it limits how many properties I can afford.

After doing plenty of reading, the more creative options I have come up with are:
    * vendor financing (even some of the deposit being left in the deal is an advantage)
    * long settlement where I can add percieved value to the property then get a revaluation at settlement for the increased amount
    * parents being guarantor on the loan (prefer the other options first)
    * lying about income, etc (really prefer to steer clear of this)

I don’t feel I’m in a terrible position, I’m sure other have been must worse off. I would like to know others thoughts and ideas on which way to go.

Thanks,
    Josh

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Make sure you get an ABN asap. It is very hard to get a good, cheap low doc without having held an ABN for 2 years. If you haven’t got one, that means you are turning over less than $50,000 pa, which could be the case, but will mean it will be hard to qualify for high loan amounts. You still must declare an income for low doc loans.

Terryw
    Discover Home Loans
    Mortgage Broker
    [email protected]

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au