All Topics / Help Needed! / investing with a partner…

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Profile photo of giladgilad
    @gilad

howdy,

as i’m sure i’ve said before, i’m a 19 year old student who is working part time. I’m almost ready to buy my first property but i’m trying to decide whether a partnership with a friend is the way to go… we have talked, and we both have similar goals.

So as not to blow the 12,000 first home owners grants, we would like to work together. We would first buy a property in his name, live in it for 6 months to year and a half, and then sell or rent it, depending on what the property and rental market is like. We would then move onto my property and do similar, whilst doing some basic renovations. The problem is as follows:
    the property type he is interested in is in a certain area (if anyone knows the caulfield region in melbourne) you’ll understand my issue, which is property prices. We looked at a couple of units today and they were small, run – down 2/3 bedroom. In short, not the ideal place for us to live for the 6 to 18 months. I would possibly look at something a bit further out, in a suburb that is still growing, but were prices are still reasonable.

Finally, my question is, what is the value of a property partner? What advice can people give me?
    Am i better of looking at investing myself, ie saving an extra 20k before starting? will i need to forfeit the 12k first home owners grant?

any advice would be great

thanks,
    gilad

Profile photo of geogeo
    @geo

Hi Gilad,

Partnerships could work if you have a strong partnership agreement.

What happens if 6 months down the track, you decide to sell but your partner refuses or vice-versa? What happens if one of you default on the loan? All conditions need to be included in the agreement.