All Topics / Help Needed! / Offer/contract clauses

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Profile photo of coopscoops
    Participant
    @coops

Is a “subject to Due Dilligence” clause enough on an offer/contract. Or in other words does this give you a global “out” if needed?

thoughts comments welcome

coops

Profile photo of MJTMJT
    @mjt

Coops,
    I am certainly no expert but I would say not.

The 2 weeks or so that you have to perform building and pest inspections and you finance date should give you enough time to do your due dilligence and if needed you can then get out via these. Others don’t even sign a contract until they have done a due diligence.

[grin]

Matt

Profile photo of coopscoops
    Participant
    @coops

Thanks Matt

I understand that a lot of the due dilligence shoud be done before you make an offer and you’ll have to excuse me if My questions seem silly but i’m new to this.

It’s just that from all Ive seen and read that the fewer the clauses in an offer the better. My thinking being that if due dilligence is finding out all you can about a property this would include inspections ect. therefore a due dilligence clause should be a catch all clause and cover all bases. Or have I got the wrong end of the stick alltogether.

thanks

coops

Profile photo of MonopolyMonopoly
    @monopoly

Hi coops,

Bear in mind that the more “subject to” clauses attached to your offer, the less appealing it will be to the vendor (say over one which has less or no such conditions) and the more likely it will be rejected.