All Topics / Help Needed! / Evaluate the ‘rentability’ of a property

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of homerhomer
    @homer

Hello everyone

I’m a real novice in the game. Got inspired by Steve’s book and found a number of regional properties that pass the 11 second test.

How can I evaluate whether a property would be easy to rent out though?

Any idea? I’d be grateful for any suggestions or help from those who have done it.

Profile photo of wilandelwilandel
    @wilandel

hi nguyen,

It’s not too hard…

We try to find 3br properties that are in a reasonably close vicinity to schools, train stations, shops, etc..

The house doesn’t have to be flash, just basically clean with a low maintenance small yard.

Ask the opposition real estate property manager as to whether there are any major problems with the street etc, ‘cos they don’t have anything to lose by telling you the truth.

We try to drive past the prospective house at night time, just to check if there are any “gang warfare” signs. [medieval]

If all seems ok, and the numbers stack up, then jump in and give it a go.

It gets easier each time…

Good luck,

Del [smiling]

Profile photo of MonopolyMonopoly
    @monopoly

Hi ngyugen,

All that wilandel has mentioned plus anything else that you can think of to ask about the property.

Check out the local paper in the area of the property; look at how much rents are, or try http://www.realestate.com.au and click on RENT section and see what properties are renting for in the area.

Ask the RE about its history, has it ever been rented, if so, how much for?

Have a look around, walk or drive around and see how close it is to schools, shops, transport, parks, and/or beaches. These things are important to tenants; even if they have cars, it is always good to know they can jump on a bus, tram or train, and that it’s nearby.

Talk to people who live in the area, or those who know of it, or have lived in it.