All Topics / General Property / Buying site unseen

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of WilkoWilko
    @wilko

How many people do this when buying inv. properties? Obviously it would cost to much to fly to various states when a prop. is spotted. What are the potential risks? how can you reduce the risks?

Profile photo of banderosbanderos
    Participant
    @banderos

I am a novice with limited experience, but I would think if you can’t inspect it yourself or have someone on your team who you can trust do it, then you are raising the risk of the investment substantially.

It is approaching gambling rather than investing IMO.

On the other hand, someone very experienced in buying property may be able to do this with far less risk.

Profile photo of yackyack
    @yack

I would not buy sight unseen. In my view there is nothing that would alleviate the risk in buying a property unseen.

The only exception is unless you know an area well. You know it well and the surrounding area. You seen the streets and know its a good part of town.

In my view – whats $1500 in flying there and getting a valuation when you spend in excess of $100k.

I know some from this forum do buy sight unseen – but not me.

Profile photo of CastleDreamerCastleDreamer
    Participant
    @castledreamer

I agree with Yack, I would not buy sight unseen. But I think we may differ in exactly what sight unseen is. I buy in towns and areas I have visited, places I have done my homework on. I do however trust my team of people to look at the property and provide data for me without me necessarily seeing it myself.
    It is definitely something you weigh up risks/pros/cons of, and decide how you feel – price, who views it for me, return, style of house, all have a bearing on how comfortable I might feel about a particular property.