All Topics / Finance / Internal Rate of Return

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of Native_MetaLNative_MetaL
    @native_metal

Hi just a Quick Question

I’m Playing around with Somersoft PIA software and they refer to the “internal rate of return” to show an investor what percentage rate a possible investment could return on your money.
    Is the “Cash on Cash” term that Steve refers to the same as the internal rate of return?
    Or is it a completely different thing?

Thanks Everyone [wink][whistle]

Profile photo of ZimonyaZimonya
    Participant
    @zimonya

Dear Native Metal

I am still new at all this but from what I understand it is not the same thing. The COCR that Steve talks about refers to the cash return that you will recieve on your overall invested funds. IRR meanwhile refers to the net overall return that you will recieve from the property taking into account changes in capital value as well. Hope that this helps

regards Zimonya

Zimonya

Profile photo of Still in SchoolStill in School
    @still-in-school
    Profile photo of glenettiglenetti
    @glenetti

Aaaah! My favourite analysis tool, and I am still waiting for someone to show me I’m wrong. It is totally different to cash-on-cash return, which really only looks at the initial cash flow.

This is where I get long-winded, so duck out now if you’re already bored.

IRR is an indicative value which shows you what annual interest rate you would have to be paid (say on a bank fixed deposit) in order to earn the same return, based on a series of cash flows.

These cash flows do not have to be even, as they would be for an annuity. However, the cash flows must occur at regular intervals, such as monthly or annually. The IRR is the interest rate received for an investment consisting of payments (negative values) and income (positive values) that occur at regular periods.