All Topics / Help Needed! / Stumped w/how to get the 2nd property.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of jfragmentjfragment
    @jfragment

Hi Guys/Gals,
    Killer community you’ve got here. I’ve got simple question that I can’t find on the site here. (I think I’m not searching properly)

Question: If I buy a property at about the max that I can afford (according to the bank), how do I get a 2nd property even if the renter is covering the mortgage on the first?

Do they take all of this into account even though I would be personally “maxed” out on my credit?

Thanks in advance.

Little bit about my situation:
    – I am on my 2nd real estate book.
    – small business owner with a single income.
    – renting at the moment.
    – I am in my 2nd year of business but not showing a lot of income ($24,000 last year)
    – Liabilities 0 – no Credit Cards, no car loan, etc.

Do I have a chance after I secure my first IP?

Profile photo of jfragmentjfragment
    @jfragment

After reading my first post I don’t think I made a ton of sense. Here’s another go at it.

How do I buy another property with my first property just paying for itself? How do I convince the bank that I can afford to get another IP?

Profile photo of FFCommFFComm
    @ffcomm

Well there is a few ways, get the property revaluaed in 6 months and see if the banks will lend you more.

The otherway is to add the rent to your income (and deduct the mortgage payments). THis calculator will give you a general idea on how much you can borrow: http://moneymanager.smh.com.au/tools/calculators/borrowingpower.html

Otherwise it means saving up 20% for no/low docs home loan (or borrowing of family/friends).

Rgds.
    Lucifer_au

Profile photo of wejons1wejons1
    @wejons1

I believe it comes down to cashflow and I believe the banks look at worst case scenarios and sees if you have enough cash to cover all loans.