All Topics / Finance / What is an Interest only loan??

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of kalebballkalebball
    @kalebball

Ok, this might sound silly, but I am still a newbie to the property game. Can someone explain what exactly an interest only loan is? I realise that you only pay the interest each week off the loan, but what happens if the loan ever made it to 25 years? Do you have to then payout the principle? Can someone explain the pros and cons of this type of loan?

K

Profile photo of Mobile MortgageMobile Mortgage
    @mobile-mortgage

Hi kalebball,
    With an interest only loan, you pay only the interest on the mortgage in monthly payments, usually five to fifteen years, After the Interest Only period, you either refinance, pay the balance in a lump sum, or start paying off the principal.
    Regards
    Steven
    Mortgage Broker

[email protected]
    http://www.mobilemortgagemarket.com.au
    Ph:1800 820 500
    Victoria

PLEASE note comments made should NOT be taken as specific taxation, financial, legal or investment advice. Please seek professional, specific advice.

Profile photo of redwingredwing
    Participant
    @redwing

hi Kalebball

I use IO on my IP’s at the moment..

Why ?

The payment is less, meaning more available ca$h to go into our PPOR, and repayment ability on IP’s is eased, i owe $80k now and in 5 yrs time i still owe $80k, but the IP may be worth $130k.Also the interest is the Tax deductible portion, at this stage i want to reduce my ‘non’ deductible debt ( PPOR ) I’m not to concerned at the moment about paying off the principle of my loan, possibly i’ll reduce the loan amount when i re-finance in 4yrs

Note– My IP’s initially – geared, due to “growth” recently and good rental ability, they are + geared..

REDWING

“Money is a currency, like electricity and it requires momentum to make it Effective”

Profile photo of js2js2
    @js2