All Topics / Help Needed! / The order of getting a property

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 34 total)
  • Profile photo of PenguinJrPenguinJr
    @penguinjr

Hey Guys and girls,

I know I’ve asked this before, but I’m still learning and I see different things all the time (mainly because i’m reading Rich Dad Real Estate Riches, which is I think more American than it is Australian).

So.. on to the question.. what is the order of buying a property?

1. Look for a property,
    2. offer a deal (verbally or electronically – email?)
    3. Arrange a finance. Get an appraiser (in that town? or can it be from out of town?)
    4… Err.. I’ll leave it as 2 steps first. I have too many questions to ask.

Is this order correct? or should we arrange a finance first then offer a deal?

Sorry if my questions are too vague.

Regards,

~F.T.~

Profile photo of judijudi
    @judi

penguin

Talk to a mortgage broker. Find out how much you can borrow. Find a property in your price range. Inspect it yourself. Make an offer (in person to the real estate agent). Agree on a price. Look at the sale contract with a solicitor or an experienced investor that you trust. Make sure there is a condition on the contract about finance. It is usually 2 weeks to arrange finance and if you can’t, you can get out of the contract without a penalty. The same goes for building and pest inspections. The contract also states the date of “settlement” that’s when you become the owner.