All Topics / General Property / Negative Geared & Positive Cash Flow???

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of kelly1100kelly1100
    @kelly1100

[?][?][?]Can some one give me the short and skinny on properties that are

a) Negatively geared but positive cash flow
    b) Positively geared and positive cash flow

This is probably a really dumb question but would someone please humour me here[:)][:)][:)]

I can see that this post is being read but can some PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE give me some advice here.

Profile photo of dreamergirldreamergirl
    @dreamergirl

Not sure what you mean by short and skinny? I’m only a newbie myself but in terms of definition, I think this is the basic scenario:

1)Your cashflow is positive in that the rent is greater than mortgage + running costs, but when it comes to tax you make a ‘paper loss’ because the amount you claim due to interest payments, depreciation etc negates your cashflow (so you get a tax deduction even though you are making money). Rolf de Roos talks about this I think.
    2)As above your cashflow is positive but even once other costs are taken into account, your cashflow is still greater than your overall paper loss. Thus you’re positive gearing.

Personally I’ve love number one right about now seeing I’m about to hit the really yucky tax bracket…

Have I got it right everyone else?
    Sam

Profile photo of noddiesnoddies
    @noddies

Hi kelly1100[:D]
    Gearing or leveraging is using borrowed money to enhance returns on investments.
    The higher your gearing ratio,the higher your profit.For instancce if you invest $10k of your own money at a return of 10% per annum you would receive $1k.
    If you borrow an extra $90k then you would make $10k less the borowing cost.
    If an investment returns more money than the costs then it is positively geared,and as such earns income which is taxable.As it earns money it will enhance borrowing capacity.