All Topics / General Property / DIY Small Shops Property Trust

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of DerynakaDerynaka
    @derynaka

Hello All,

I have had this idea for many years now and feel I am in a position to start to implement my plan.
    PPOR paid off and equity to burn.

I also currently own two older style corner shops, each divided into three shops. Six shops in total returning $52,000 pa, this is about 10% return on current valuations but the return is a lot greater on purchase prices. I could use one these properties to start the trust and show investors what can be acheived.

My background is as a tradesman running my own business, realestate sales and more recently managing an employers association.

Both shops have been renovated, new tenants found and rental returns increased. This would be the plan for future purchases. All this I can do with my eyes shut.

Where i need help is in setting up a property trust that would invest in small shops. I would like to make my living buying the properties, managing the investors, properties,tenants and repairs.

Has anyone any experience in setting up a property trust structure, were can I get more info, help and advice?

What return would an investor expect when investing in the above trust and how is it calulated eg – rent plus capital gain equalls 10% return to the investor.

Also what percentage would the manager of the trust expect to recieve.

I could purchase another property myself but feel the above plan would have me doing more of what I love doing quicker, buying property.

I look forward to your replies,
    Regards DC

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

I don’t know if you can set up a property trust like that without getting ASIC approval and a prospectus. Maybe you should check with ASIC just in case. This is like raising money from the public.