All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Land tax in NSW

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of HueyHuey
    Participant
    @huey

Hi All,

I bought my Sydney IP almost 2 years ago. I didn’t receive any notice from the council regarding land tax. Is that because it’s land value is still under the threadhold of $261K ? How can I find out it’s land value? An accountant firm prepared for my a depreciation schedule showed its land value of $200K . I don’t know where they got this value from.

The IP is in joint tenants with 99% my husband’s & 1% mine. If we want to buy another IP in NSW how should we structure it to minimise paying land tax? The NSW gov website indicates that the threadhold is not applicable to Trust.

I’d appreciate your advice.

Regards

Huey

Profile photo of ImstillhungryImstillhungry
    @imstillhungry

Hi Huey,

I’m REALLY no expert but…

“I bought my Sydney IP almost 2 years ago. I didn’t receive any notice from the council regarding land tax. Is that because it’s land value is still under the threadhold of $261K ?”
    Yep[:)]

“How can I find out it’s land value?”
    If you check out the gov. vluation that should include land value and improvements value separately. Call the agent who is managing your property or the council. [:P]

“An accountant firm prepared for my a depreciation schedule showed its land value of $200K . I don’t know where they got this value from.”
    Neither do I [;)]

“The IP is in joint tenants with 99% my husband’s & 1% mine. If we want to buy another IP in NSW how should we structure it to minimise paying land tax?”