All Topics / The Treasure Chest / What’s the catch

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of rodders19rodders19
    @rodders19

Hi all,

It’s my first post, but I need everyones advice. I’ve been surfing the realestate internet pages for many months now searching for a cashflow positive property, there aren’t many out there. However there’s one type that keeps on coming and that’s to buy a room in a motel in say Melbourne or Brisbane.

These things seem to be cashflow positive using the 11 second rule (There was one in Brisbane for $75,000 alledgley generating $180 a week rent), the fact that they are leased back to the motel for 5 years seems even better. If you want to see some of these property just go to realestate.com.au and search Melbourne or Brisbane.

My question. What’s the catch, what am I missing. They seem to good to be true. I have many theories as to why they seem like a good offer, from lack of capital gains, to the inability to “wrap” them.

Please guys, I need info, are these properties good cashflow positive investments or is there basic hidden dangers that I dont know about.

Any opinions/help will be appreciated.

Thanks
    Rod

Profile photo of ajwansajwans
    Participant
    @ajwans

The catch is that it may be hard (read very hard)
    to arrange finance for this sort of investment.

Banks have a problem with small spaces and also
    you’ll be borrowing on commercial terms.

andy

Profile photo of ANUBISANUBIS
    Participant
    @anubis

My partner and I have looked at several of these types of deals in the past and there seem to quite often be gigantic management fees involved along with cleaning fees, laundry fees etc etc.

One we looked at was for sale at a large discount to the purchase price because the fees pushed the property into the negative and no-one wanted to buy it. Neither did we.

Make sure you find out about ALL the fees and charges, and weigh it up with any difficulty in onselling in the future.