Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Profile photo of JULES1JULES1
    Participant
    @jules1

Hi
    Just reading through many of the discussions and find it great reading.

I will be a first property owner as I am just beginning my search. However if I buy an Investment Property now I will miss out on the First Home Owner Grant.

I don’t exactly want to move from my rented accommodation at present but am anxious to get an Investment Property.
    Does anyone know how I can get the FHOG if I want to buy an Investment Property before buying a home.

Sorry I must seem very green. Yes okay I am green. But I thought there may be some rule that I am not aware of that would help me.

Hope someone can assist
    Jules [:O]

JULES1
    Email Me

Profile photo of HousesOnlyHousesOnly
    Participant
    @housesonly

Hi Jules

Here are the rules from the following website

http://www.osr.qld.gov.au/gas/fhog/grant.htm

To be eligible for the base $7,000 grant, you must have completed an eligible transaction in relation to the purchase or construction of a home that is your first home and must satisfy certain eligibility criteria. The eligibility criteria are as follows. (All criteria must be satisfied for you to be eligible.)

You must be a natural person (i.e. not a company or person acting in the capacity of trustee)

You, or a joint applicant, must be an Australian citizen or a permanent resident.

You or your spouse must not have received an earlier grant under the First Home Owner Grant Act 2000 or under an Act of an Australian State or Territory providing for payment of a first home owner grant, unless the earlier grant has been repaid.

You or your spouse must not have previously owned an interest in residential property in Australia prior to 1 July 2000. This includes investment homes.

You or your spouse must not have, on or after 1 July 2000, owned an interest in residential property in Australia and lived in that property.