All Topics / The Treasure Chest / is it true that buying 1st is hardest

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Profile photo of KristineKristine
    @kristine

Hi I am new to this I was just wondering if buying your first property is the hardest to get…do the banks get better with lending you money as time goes on? or is it always this hard?

Profile photo of MiniMogulMiniMogul
    Participant
    @minimogul

buying the first one is the hardest for so many reasons….
    am i doing the right thing? Am i going to lose money? what say it all goes wrong? what say I make a mistake? What say people laugh at me? What if, what if, what if, what if you don’t?
    Which is worse? are you confident about the numbers? well go and tell the bank, and show them -!
    I personally chose a positive cashflow property for my first one, choosing to rent my PPOR a bit longer. Positive cashflow increases your income and will make it easier to get a second one. A Negatively geared property will make it harder to get a second property unless you have heaps more spare income, or time has passed and the property has gone up. I think if you are planning on getting one after the other a mix of positive and negatively geared properties so that the total is always positive is almost mandatory.

cheers-
    Mini

‘from zero to three properties in one year’ – hehe

http://www.vocalbureau.com

Profile photo of RentMasterRentMaster
    @rentmaster

Another reason the second property is easier is because you can use your equity in the first property to purchase the second one. Sometimes without needing any cash deposit. The third one gets easier again. The more capital gains you are getting the better for this.

Andrew
    http://www.rentmaster.co.nz

Profile photo of KristineKristine
    @kristine