All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Interested in peoples thought or advice!

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of JayJayJayJay
    @jayjay

Hi everyone! I’m new to this sight but think its great the way people are helping each other!

I’m at the starting stage of developing a small investment property portfolio and keen to get thoughts, or any advice from people who have been in a similar situation! Firstly a bit of an overview of my current situation:

 I’m have about $230k of equity in a melb. Inner city apartment (current value approx $285k) I currently live here and intend to do so for probably the next 2-3 years. I am 29 YO and earn around 80-90k pa, so my outgoings are quite low.

My intention is to team up with a friend in a similar situation as myself and contribute around $50k in cash each (drawn back from my equity in my resid.)
    We plan to use this $100k to acquire around 4-5 country prop each around the 80-100k mark. I would like to incorporate a company from day 1 to avoid any mess later, however my concern is whether banks will lend to a company with no history and set up purely for the purpose of prop investing! Will they require security on my property? Or will the invest props be enough? Or should I be looking about starting in a different way?

Keen to hear people’s advice, or comments!

Cheers JayJay[:)]

Keep up the good posts!!!

Profile photo of crashycrashy
    Participant
    @crashy

I was told yesterday by a mortgage broker that banks will run away scared if you tell them you are a developer. Its too risky.

Profile photo of wilandelwilandel
    @wilandel

Hi JayJay

Your idea seems fine, except to buy propeties in a company structure you will lose the 50% CGT exemption. The rule of thumb is generally to never purchase appreciating assets in a company.