All Topics / The Treasure Chest / P & I Loans or Interest Only ???

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Profile photo of wilandelwilandel
    @wilandel

Hi everyone,

I’d like a bit of advice on which way to structure my loans. I have a L.O.C. which I use for the 20% deposit and then I obtain a loan for 80%. I believed that int. only and locking in for 3 – 5 yrs was the way to go, but now I am not so sure. Any suggestions would be appreciated. I am pretty new to all of this.
    Thanks,
    Del[:I]

Profile photo of AdministratorAdministrator
    Keymaster
    @piadmin

Hi there Wilandel.

I am of the opinion that an interest only loan is viable if you are looking to sell the property in the near future to get a capital gain. For instance i would get interest only if i were going to buy a property and do it up and sell it for a capital gain.

If my objective was for positive cash flow i would take out a principal and interest loan as the tennant is reducing my debt on the loan and building me equity. If this is my objective then i don’t really see the point of taking out an interest only loan as the principle borrowed is not reducing.

My 2 cents.

Profile photo of wilandelwilandel
    @wilandel

quote:

Hi there Wilandel.

I am of the opinion that an interest only loan is viable if you are looking to sell the property in the near future to get a capital gain. For instance i would get interest only if i were going to buy a property and do it up and sell it for a capital gain.

If my objective was for positive cash flow i would take out a principal and interest loan as the tennant is reducing my debt on the loan and building me equity. If this is my objective then i don’t really see the point of taking out an interest only loan as the principle borrowed is not reducing.

My 2 cents.

@wilandel

Thanks JUMBO,

I get your point, it does seem to make good sense to reduce the loan, otherwise it can seem at times like you are not achieving much.
    Thanks,