All Topics / Help Needed! / Investing on TTS Visa

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of maxmutovmaxmutov
    Participant
    @maxmutov

Hi all,

I’m new to property investing in Australia and am still on TTS visa, will apply for PR next year only.

The rules for foreigners are constantly changing, so want to be sure I got it all correct or anyone can help with the link/advice.

As per my understanding, I can apply for FIRB approval to by primary place of residence only – and this can be vacant land or any new dwelling/project under construction.

It’s not hard to understand these would not the best options for investment (looking only for positive gearing).

I also understood family trust will not help (both my wise and myself are on TSS visa) as the trust will be treated as a foreigner.

Question 1. Trust will be treated as a foreigner in our case. But if there is another person who is Australian resident, can this be of any help? Provided I can pre-agree with the citizen the income will be distributed between my wife and myself.

Question 1.2. Once we get PR, is it easy for the citizen to withdraw from the trust?

Question 2. Is there any chance for me as a foreigner (either acting as an individual or trustee of a family trust/ any way) to avoid the foreigner’s extra tax when buying IP (investment property)?

Question 3. Is there any chance not paying stamp duty when buying IP valued $600,00 or less?

Checking all information available on the internet looks like one of the best options for me will be just put the money into term deposit until I apply for PR and get bridging visa, then I can save at least 7% foreigner’s tax + avoid any additional applications and possible fees