All Topics / Help Needed! / Battle-axe Property

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of Manoj01Manoj01
    Participant
    @manoj01

Hi All

I am new to investing in Property, going through STEPS at the moment..

Looking to invest in a battle-axe type property, sell the land and house separately after dividing them.

And advise from experienced people out there who done this type investment.

Appreciate any information that I should look out for.

Manoj

PS: I am in Perth Western Australia

Profile photo of jessicak21jessicak21
    Participant
    @jessicak21

Hi Mahoj01,

I work in the project industry and am also in the process doing a battle-axe development myself. What stage were you up to? Have you purchased the site as yet?

Profile photo of Manoj01Manoj01
    Participant
    @manoj01

HI Jessicak21

I have not purchased any yet. doing the research and gathering information.

Plus setting up the company structure for investing.

Which stage are you in and where are you based in?

Cheers

Manoj

Profile photo of dnl248dnl248
    Participant
    @dnl248

Hi Manoj01,

Above all, the key is going to be to look at the council regulations surrounding zoning, building and subdivision in the area where you intend to buy. You do not want to encounter a situation where you buy a house and then find you cannot subdivide it due to some regulations about minimum lot sizing, for example.

Secondly, you want to ensure that, after subdividing, the land-only component can still have a decent dwelling built on it under council building regulations; for example, there are often rules regarding how close to the fence-line one can build, so if the land is too small, then there may be heavy restrictions on the house that a buyer could build there, and that would reduce profitability when selling.

Hope that helps!

Participant
    @manoj01

HI dnl248

Thank you so much for the information.

I am aware of the land sizes, R codes here in Perth.