All Topics / Help Needed! / Advice newbie ?

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Profile photo of ajg71ajg71
    Participant
    @ajg71

Hi all I am a newbie looking at getting into my 1st investment property.
    I own my ppor in Sydney with nothing owing on it and I have a small share portfolio as well and I was looking at diversifying into property.

I was looking at possibley buying a house in a rural area say around Armidale or the Hunter region or maybe Singleton locality areas to invest in, I have a $100,000 deposit to put towards it.
    I would be looking at going up to $350,000 price.

I picked these areas as the uni is in Armidale so students looking to rent and it’s also a larger town and also the Hunter region has work in the area with the mines and it’s not too far from Newcastle another major town.

I would like to buy a house in half descent condition without having to do anything major if I had to do some minor renos paintthis would be ok.

This will be a long term retirement investment with the idea the rent and also my own contributions will pay it down or off over 10 and maybe along the way buy another one.

Can I please get some feedback on my plan and also some thoughts on these areas for capital growth ?

thankyou for reading.

Profile photo of ajg71ajg71
    Participant
    @ajg71

any thoughts anyone ?

Profile photo of Steve McKnightSteve McKnight
    Keymaster
    @stevemcknight

Howdy ajg71. Thanks for the post.

Here’s the process to think though:

1. Are you investing for income (cashflow), or for growth returns?

2. Are you a passive or active investor?

3. What is your timeframe (investment horizon)?

4. What is your risk threshold?

5. How much deposit do you have, and what is your borrowing ability?

Answer the above and I’ll reply with more info when time permits.

– Steve