All Topics / Overseas Deals / Financing for purchase of property in USA?

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of DavidRDavidR
    Participant
    @dor814

Hi Everyone,

I am pretty new to the RE investment game. I actually just purchased my first two buy and hold properties over the summer. I live in the US but I am originally from Australia.

My sister works as a nurse in Australia and has saved quite a bit of money (about 120 00) and she would like to invest in the US.

I am wondering if someone on here can provide some insight or guidance for a foreigner trying to purchase property in the US.

My sister is looking at buy and hold property and will be using financing to purchase some property. Can someone tell me if she should be looking at trying to get financing from lenders in Australia or here in the US? How does this process work for foreigners with no US credit history or income? Would lenders in the US be willing to lend to foreigners living and working overseas and would Australian lenders be willing to lend for the purchase of an overseas property.

Also, does anyone know if my sister will still be able to claim losses from her American investment property against her personal income tax? Obviously there are significant tax breaks if she was to buy in Aus but I am assuming that would not be the case if she invested here?

Any information on this and how to get started in the lending process would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you so much for your time.

David

Profile photo of Corey BattCorey Batt
    Participant
    @cjaysa

Hi David,