All Topics / Help Needed! / Starting Out

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Profile photo of Greg BurgessGreg Burgess
    Participant
    @gregburgess

Hi my name is Greg,
    1- I read o to 135 a few weeks ago and was super excited to start my road to property freedom. Then I read 0 to financial freedom. Then realised a lot of the strategies may not be able to be put in place from 0 to 135. Can some one help me especially with the formulas used, like 135% rule for quick numbers on reno’s etc
    2- I am a Carpenter and have a small business with an Electrician. We enjoy renovating and want to head down this road and see if we can make some money buying and selling. I also have a mate who is very wealthy and wants to start a separate business with myself and start buying properties for us to renovate. What is the best business structure to do this? I would like to keep both businesses separate for now.

I do have access to money and have skills in the trade, but need help in starting my pathway.

Please help,

Greg Burgess

Profile photo of Shane WShane W
    Participant
    @shanewebb

The business structure is out of my league but it is an interesting post I couldn’t help but comment.

I have also read all of Steve Mcknight’s book and taken in a good deal of information. May I suggest that you also have a look through some different property strategies such as Michael Yardney’s book ‘How to build a property portfolio in your spare time”. It takes a look at property investing through a different strategy based on capital growth.

Lots of things to consider with the business idea
    -How much money involved with renovating/buying and selling fees, capital gains, time taken to renovate ect.
    -How much needs to be done to the property to add value – You don’t want to over capitalise
    -Working in conjunction with your mate – How are the profits distributed evenly based on expertise and time spent in the various roles.