All Topics / Help Needed! / Newby trying to get started

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of DwayneDwayne
    Participant
    @dwayne86

Hello, I am new to the property investing game and like many other people new to the game, I have limited savings/deposit etc as I do not have much equity to rely on yet, therefore I am limited in what I can start with. As many of you are probably well into the game, I was just looking for some advice on the best type of property to start with, eg start with small 1-2 bedroom units close to the CBD (Adelaide), or would I be best to push for standalone houses slightly further out of town?

I know it’s probably a hard question as it depends on many factors, however I guess I am looking for some advice based on the experience of some of you, that if you started over again, where would you start?

Thanks!
    Dwayne

Profile photo of TheNewGuyTheNewGuy
    Participant
    @thenewguy

I literally rely on the numbers. For each option, Previous capital gain, future capital gain, rental return, maintenance costs, potential capital improvements, future infrastructure etc. Then I decide based on that. If I can’t afford one now then I look at opportunity cost. For example if I need $40k more savings but the property is likely to go up $40k before I save it then maybe I should look elsewhere or consider mortgage insurance etc.

Profile photo of PimobpiPimobpi
    Participant
    @pimobpi

Hi Dwayne, welcome – I’m sure that this site will impress you.

I know that you are only asking for our ideas on best property types to start with etc. I want you to look at answering some different types of questions because our responses are what’s right for us and maybe not what’s right for you….although I like the first response that you received from “TheNewGuy” to look at the numbers because that is a great way to sift through potential investments…….or not to buy.