All Topics / General Property / Buying Property/Holding property during a recession

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of BenBen
    Participant
    @benadams

Hi guys,

I’m 25 and currently live in Auckland, New Zealand.

I’m new to property investing and am currently looking at purchasing my first investment property here in NZ.

I was hoping that I could hear some of your opinions on purchasing property/holding property during poor economic times. Based on how the global economy is performing, driven by the major China slow down, US market unease, the massive global commodity sell off and the on going issues in Europe there is the potential the global economy could be plunged into another recession. Whether this happens in the next 6 weeks or the next 6 years it looks very likely that there will be a major ‘correctionary’ period.

Based on peoples experience and property investing knowledge is this a good time to invest in property? Are the risks to great for someone like myself who is likely to be highly geared? What would be the best strategy for someone like me looking to invest in there first property?

Thanks for all your time and I look forward to hearing what peoples thoughts are.

Cheers
    Ben

Profile photo of David HallDavid Hall
    Participant
    @wiggles2

Hi Ben,

That is a very open ended question, and all you will really get is peoples thoughts. Any serious property investor is going to tell you it is always a good time to invest in property, it is just a matter of where to invest. No matter what, people are going to need a roof over their head.

If you are seriously entertaining investing in property, please talk to Olly Newland before you do anything. He is a seasoned Auckland based property investor. He is honest and won’t sell you any thing. Some time with him will save you from making a serious mistake.

http://www.ollynewland.co.nz/what-we-do/mentoring/

David Hall | The Buyers Agency
    Email Me | Phone Me