All Topics / Help Needed! / Should I buy apartment or house for first IP?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of mddedfmddedf
    Participant
    @mddedf

Like a lot of first time investors, we are confused with many suggestions on our first IP.

We’d love to buy a house but we have heard that it is better to buy an apartment or unit for the first time, because it will somehow influences our borrowing capacity with the second IP in the future.

Is this true? Sorry if this question is too naive.

Thanks for your time.

Profile photo of emma_vicemma_vic
    Participant
    @emma18

Hi, I’m also a newbie so probably best to take my advice with a grain of salt. I haven’t heard that before about buying an apartment or unit first, could they possibly mean that a unit/apartment would likely be cheaper than buying a house so you may have borrowing power remain after the purchase? We bought our PPOR 2.5 years ago and have built solid equity in it for an IP, and have huge borrowing power, so my advice is to consult with a broker or other finance professional rather than rely on the advice you hear.

Personally, I wouldn’t buy an apartment because of the very real risk of oversupply. I’m in Melbourne and we have definitely hit oversupply of apartments in the inner ring. The only way I would consider it would be if it was a larger than the norm apartment in a boutique complex, or it had something special about it. From my office I can see into an apartment building and those shoebox apartments are so depressing. If I was buying a unit/townhouse I would only do so if the property was on it’s own title.

My plan is to buy my first IP this year and it will be a house. My reasons for this include owning land and also that I believe the value of a house in the area I want to buy will rise much faster than a unit would, hopefully allowing me to tap into equity for my next property sooner. Hope this helps!

Profile photo of Jacqui MiddletonJacqui Middleton