All Topics / Help Needed! / Invest now?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of Newbie87Newbie87
    Participant
    @luciness

Hi all,

Newbie here and would like some insights or advice :)

My partner and I have lived in the eastern suburbs of Melbourne all our life and currently have 2 properties on this side.

We have about $500k equity and a $325k loan in our place of residence and an “investment property” worth $700k with a $500k loan and $100k in the offset account. The reason I say “investment property” is because it is currently rented to family members at way below market value hence we are not getting any benefits from negative gearing etc. I pay about $200 per month from my own salary into this property on an interest only loan. The $100k in the offset is actually contributed by the family members who live inside the property so it is not available to draw on.

We made a foolish rash decision last year to purchase an off the plan townhouse for $500k (2 bedroom, tiny land, strata title) and put in $50k deposit. It will likely be settling sometime next year. We are both getting cold feet now since the land is soo small and we don’t see too much potential for capital growth.

My aim is to eventually be able to quit my day job and live off passive rental income hence I am doing research on purchasing another investment property this year. We would be drawing on equity from our PPOR for this purchase.

I have been looking at all sorts of strategies and areas however would like some thoughts on the following:

– Sell the off the plan before it settles and use the funds to purchase elsewhere with land. Will I likely be able to get more than my $50k deposit back? Is it better to wait until it is built and then sell to potentially see if there has been capital growth?