All Topics / Help Needed! / Investment Property Guidance – Need a bit of help

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of Investa99Investa99
    Participant
    @investa99

I’m new to property investing so please forgive me if my newbie questions appear to be common sense to others.

My Situation
    Dual income long term expats, no kids, with a current property (apartment) in inner north/west Melbourne. No plans to return home for min 5 years. Property rented out.

Plans
    Wanting to invest in inner north of Melbourne (Northcote/Brunswick East etc) with a townhouse but open to recently renovated period homes. Capital growth the major focus but need rental yield to cover interest payments on loan.

Dilemma
    1. Buy in established or look to fringe suburbs which are yet to ‘take off’
    2. How much to spend on a townhouse. Budgeted at 850k but is this too much for a second investment and townhouse?
    3. Two or three bedroom townhouse. Greater chance of securing renters with a 2 bedroom in mentioned areas as rental price for 3 bed would be high?
    4. Most 2/3 bedders are priced between 500k to 800k with some going over. Borrowing too much?

I keep switching back and forth between a house and townhouse. Keep switching in between 2bed/3bed and established/up coming suburbs. Would love some advice and where to go with the above.

Thank you in advance.

Profile photo of StannisStannis
    Participant
    @ben-stanton0

Hi Investa99,

Mate there are a lot of questions in there and I would have a lot of questions for you in order to give you any decent advice, and I would suspect that that is why you’ve had so many views and nil replies. I will throw some questions back to you which I would consider the best way for me to give you advice – that is that you’ll come to your own conclusions as a result of asking more questions and getting the answers to them.

The questions I would ask you is (looking at your dilemmas respectively):