All Topics / Help Needed! / Subdividing small block in Brisbane

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Profile photo of StormStorm
    Participant
    @esma1924

Hi all,

This is my first time on forum, so I am currently going through a learning stage.

We have a 647 sqm block 8.5km from Brisbane. Looking into the future 2-5 years depending on the market movements in the area to subdivide the block. The idea is to subdivide and build the house on one side existing principal residence street number live in it for a while and sell, and then build another house on other block for our family.

Financialy we are not in the position yet to go on about whole business but would like to start with DA approval and then wait for the right time.

Can anyone provide information on the following

1. Approximate cost to get the DA approval only and things to look for
    2. we will be living in a new property for few months at least would that be CGT exempt
    3. Any recommendation for town planners, surveyours in Brisbane area

Profile photo of PimobpiPimobpi
    Participant
    @pimobpi

Hi Storm,

Welcome & I hope you enjoy the forum. There’s certainly lots to learn here.
    I’m going through the unanswered questions and looking for the ones that I may be able to add some value to.

My experience & knowledge is certainly nowhere near most of the forum members level but I think I can help answer your questions.
    Of course you will need to do your own research but I’ll give you some of my thoughts.

1. Approximate costs to get a DA may vary state to state, DA specifics and from using different professions however I believe that it can be done (in Victoria) anywhere from $5k to 10k. There could be different costings in Brisbane but at least you know what it could cost in Vic.

2. CGT exemption: You will need to have this question answered by a professional or by more experienced members.