All Topics / Help Needed! / How to acquire a 2nd Investment property after purchasing the 1st one?

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of SammieSammie
    Participant
    @sammie

Hi all, I’m a newbie to property investment, any tips would be greatly appreciated!

Finding the deposit and getting the loan for the 1st investment property is hard enough, I was wondering what strategies people use to purchase their 2nd one? How do you save up enough for the 2nd deposit as well as convincing the bank to lend you another loan? What is the realistic timeframe (for a newbie like me) to take between purchasing the 1st one and acquiring the 2nd one?

Thanks in advance for all advices!

sammie

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Sammie

Welcome aboard the PI.com family and I hope you enjoy your time with us.

Structuring your loan correctly and an appropriate choice of lender is paramount to long term property investing success.

To often we see forum clients with poorly structured loans with lenders which are clearly not suitable to the borrowers long term objectives. Interest rate is one thing but it is certainly not the be all and end all for building a portfolio.

The 2 key elements to moving forward rapidly are serviceability and the ability to keep coming up with required deposit to satisfy a lenders criteria.

In the main serviceability can be overcome in the early days however the hard part is coming up with the 10% deposit and acquisition costs. This can be released from equity from other properties where these properties have enjoyed capital growth as is the course most investors take.

Of course this is not always as easy as it sounds as you have to battle valuers, mortgage insurers etc etc.

Start by making sure you have a good Broker who knows his onions and has experience with investors.

Cheers

Yours in Finance

Richard Taylor | Australia's leading private lender