All Topics / Help Needed! / First investment

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Profile photo of tjay7tjay7
    Participant
    @tjay7

Hi all, This is my first time here and looking forward to learning more about property. I have been saving for my first investment property over the past 12 months and currently have 19000 in the bank of genuine savings. It will be my first property as I am still living at home with my parents. I approached a mortgage broker last week to secure a pre approval for about $250000. The stamp duty has hit me a little harder than expected and have been advised to either get a guarantor (which is not an option) or to save another $4000. My question is, are there any lenders who add the stamp duty to the loan, so this isnt taken away from my deposit or are there other ways around this? Appreciate all who read and comment in advance

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Tjay

Welcome to the forum and I hope you enjoy your time with us.

No hate to say there is no lender that adds the stamp duty to the loan however thee maybe a couple of alternative options.

Course without more information it is hard to provide a more structured response.

Cheers

Yours in Finance

Richard Taylor | Australia's leading private lender

Profile photo of BuyersAgentBuyersAgent
    Participant
    @knightm

Hi TJay,

First up congrats on getting prepared to take action! Many folk never even get to that stage.

Have you got a fixed idea of what you want to purchase? Or where? And more importantly what your long and short term goals are in property? These things will all impact upon what to buy for that first property. The best way to to start with your long term goal, work backwards from there with decisions that are likely to get you to that place.

Im not a broker but 95% loans exist but are rare these days and the extra LMI eats in so the sweet spot seems to be 88-90%.