All Topics / Help Needed! / New to Investing

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of QuachiezQuachiez
    Participant
    @quachiez

Hi,
    I am hoping to begin my investment journey, however I have limited knowledge in this field so was hoping for some help to shed some light on the below for me.

In 2010, my sister and I took out a loan to purchase a PPOR for the amount of $420,000.

As I am a staff member of a financial institution, we were able to borrow up to 90% LVR without the need for Mortgage Insurance.

Then recently we refinanced, splitting the loan between variable and fix term for 3 years.

Since our initial purchase in 2010 we have not had the PPOR re-evaluated. I believe due to the demands at the current market, our PPOR has increased in value as such our equity would have increased in lie with this. Would this be a correct thing to say? If so, should we request for a bank valuation on the property?

From this re-evaluation, do you think I can draw some equity out of PPOR loan to use it as a deposit amount towards an investment property? Would this subject me to Cross- collateralization (which is something I do not want to be exposed too) and how is equity different to a line or credit? Please explain.

To complicate matters, this investment property will not be with my sister but will be with my partner. We hope to use 50% of the evaluated equity from the PPOP plus some savings to purchase the investment property. Will this be possibly? How will this work?

In addition since this will be a beginning of our investment journey we were hoping to purchase the investment property under a family trust, but we are not married will this matter?

Also since my sister and I are locked in a 3 year fix plus variable loan, would the bank valuate the extra equity? If so, does that mean we are stuck to use the current financial institute when we take out the Investment property?