All Topics / Help Needed! / To buy or not to buy!?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of jwareham1985jwareham1985
    Participant
    @jwareham1985

Hi guys, a bit of newbie here but we all start somewhere.

I brought my first property a yr ago for 560k in Richmond, Vic. 2 bed, 2 bath apartment. I have just changed my mortgage to IO. I have 510k owing on my mortgage and have 40k in my offset account. I’m wanting to buy another property now, not sure weather to buy an apartment or house as I now have an 8week old first child, and not sure weather or not to rent out my apartment($550p.w) and move into the potential new property, or stay where I am as I do love Richmond, OR rent out both property’s and rent somewhere myself.

Also I’m not sure on where/what to buy and how much to spend, I don’t want to be in over my head so maybe two mortgages over 500k may be a little excessive but maybe it won’t be, im looking for some guidance and wanting a bit of advise as to how you would go about securing your next property, do I use the money in my offset account as a deposit? Or can I use the equity in my apartment? And if I use the equity in my apartment does that mean my IO loan will be for say 560k if I use 50k equity?

I’m not sure who to talk to about this, I’ve tried family but they arn’t investors and not really the type to get out of there comfort zones to invest either, so my only hope of finding answers are you guys.

I look forward to hearing from you and I really appreciate your time in reading this eve if you don’t have any advise/answers for me.

Cheers, John

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi John

Congrats on your first child :-)

It’s unlikely you’ll be able to purchase something for $500k+ at the moment due to the lack of a suitable deposit.