All Topics / Help Needed! / Searching for detailed, up-to-date Auction Clearance Rates in greater Sydney region

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of cheapskatecheapskate
    Participant
    @cheapskate

Hi

I am new to investing and looking to increase my knowledge with goals to invest in 2014. 

I know there are quite a lot of sites out there providing information, many of which requiring it to be bought. I am wondering if someone could direct me to the best source or couple of sources for information (preferably free, or very much worth the money). I am especially interested in auction clearance rates that breakdown a suburb by property type, though any reputable sources for all kinds of data would be appreciated. 

Kind regards

Profile photo of FreckleFreckle
    Blocked
    @freckle

RE industry manipulates auction clearance rates. Take them with a grain of salt.

Profile photo of CatalystCatalyst
    Participant
    @catalyst

I agree with Freckle.

Why are you interested in auction clearance rates? What are you hoping to gain from this knowledge?

There are a LOT of other things that will be more helpful than auction clearance rates.

Some cities don't tend to use auctions as much as others. Sydney used to be one of these. The reason they are gaining popularity now is that people are getting into a bidding frenzy in the fear of missing out.

Profile photo of FreckleFreckle
    Blocked
    @freckle
    Catalyst wrote:
    The reason they are gaining popularity now is that people are getting into a bidding frenzy in the fear of missing out.

The primary reason is they are a huge and profitable income stream for RE agencies. Another tool to milk the seller.

Profile photo of cheapskatecheapskate
    Participant
    @cheapskate

Thanks for your replies.

Ok, interesting. I would have thought there would be relatively reliable statistics out there. Do you feel that they are unnecessary in evaluating a location?