All Topics / Finance / Gearing on defense housing. I am new to investing

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of Paterson00Paterson00
    @paterson00

Hi, 

I am new to investing. I have a place in my home country in the UK which has been rented since we moved to Oz just over a year ago. I am currently saving a deposit for our first house in Australia and after doing that I would like to look at buying another house.  I work in the mines and am currently earning around $170k per year so can do good things with the money when I get the knowledge I currently lack.

My simple attitude towards investment properties was merely that if a property was paying for its own repayment mortgage (as is the case on my uk property), great.  In 17 years it will have paid off the mortgage for me ( assuming no problems) and I will have the rent to put towards my retirement fund.  As I learn more and more about investing I understand that there are benefits to be had regarding tax etc which as yet I don't entirely understand and that is the basis for my post.