All Topics / Help Needed! / Can progressive payments toward a purchase contract be considered Deposit?

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of jenny111jenny111
    Participant
    @jenny111

Hi.

Could any of you good brokers out there help, please.

Say, I am a contractor on a 6-monthly rolling basis for a number of years on a PAYG. I am a on a good income but have absolutely no savings at this stage (and I know this will be seen as a big negative to lenders).

If I sign a purchase contract for, say $250K, with the terms documented in the Sale of Contract as follow: 5 months settlement, $5K payment each calendar months till settlement date, payable directly to the vendor's agent/solicitor.  This means by settlement date, I will have paid the 10% deposit required.  

I will need funding for 90% of the purchase price + LMI + all Gov't costs from the lender.

Home will be for living in.  Not a first home buyer.  No past defaults. No credit card/store card etc. Only $20K Overdraft debt.  My questions are:

1. Is there any lender who will give approval in principle on the basis that the 10% deposit is not seen in the account at the time of application, but will be made up of progressive payments till settlement date?  This will allow me to buy the property soon, rather than having to wait for half-year later.

2. what is the approx interest rate for the home loan?

3. will the loan for funding the Gov't costs separate to the home loan? and what interest rate?

And just a general question: Do brokers now a day generally charge a brokerage fee for home loan under $250K?  How much is the brokerage fee approximately?

If you can help, please email me directly.  Thanks.

Regards,

Jenny

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Jenny

Welcome to the forum and i hope you enjoy your time with us.