All Topics / Help Needed! / Capital growth in Sydneys inner west?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of thorpef1thorpef1
    @thorpef1

Hey guys.

Its time for me to start thinking about my second IP and i have had 2 very different thoughts over the past few days and looking for some guidance to help me make up my mind (someone set me straight)

Current scenario:

Im 26 and i purchased my first IP earlier in the year, its a unit in Campbelltown and offers positive cash flow yes yes

Still living at home so have a large amount of cash that keeps bumping up the offset account

Strategy and plan:

Buy and hold. As i am fairly new to the property game i dont want to jump into renovations/subdivisions just yet, maybe further down the track once i have a bit more experience under my belt.

The plan is to purchase another IP by the end of the year, doesnt need to be cash flow positive, hoping for a bit of natural capital growth with property number 2

Options: 

1. A 2 bedroom unit in Sydneys Inner West (Drummoyne, Five Dock, Leichhardt etc) for under $600,000. Rent it out for the first 12 months and then after that move into it.
    2. A house in western Sydney for under say $450,000 that would purely be an IP and i would not move into. As i currently live in Campbelltown i know the region and there is alot of growth out here with many new suburbs poping up, BUT is it dangerous to have both of my IP's in the same region?

Questions:

What is the potential of capital growth in the inner west suburbs (units), API is showing 10.2% (12 month growth), 2.2% (3 year), 2.2% (5 year), 2.9%(10 year) – this doesnt seem like much

Would there be a better chance of capital growth getting a house with a bit of land in Western Sydney.