All Topics / Help Needed! / Need help unlocking equity for first IP

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of First timerFirst timer
    Participant
    @first-timer

Hi all, I'm very new to this caper so please excuse my lack of knowledge. Any help would be very much appreciated.

I have just had my PPOR valued at 425k giving 70k worth of equity. Im looking at buying my first IP around 240k. 

My broker wanted to go down the cross collateral path and after reading on this site still cant work out why.

My question is "how much can I access" and "how" do I use the equity to put it towards my first IP without crossing loans. What amount of cash will I need to tip in?

As stated i'm very new and any advise would help.

Thanks in advance.

Profile photo of CatalystCatalyst
    Participant
    @catalyst

How have you calculated $70K equity?   If your loan is $355K  then your loan is already over 80% so you likely couldn't borrow anymore.

You can usually borrow up to 80% of your house value. Sometimes up to 90% but you may have to pay Lenders Mortgage Insurance (LMI). 

Assuming you DO have money to borrow from your house you set up a separate account or LOC and use that for the deposit and legals etc. Then you get a loan for 80% of the IP as a stand alone loan. That way they are not crossed. Double check this when you sign the documents that ONLY the IP is listed as security for this loan.

More accurate figures will help others give you more info.

Profile photo of First timerFirst timer
    Participant
    @first-timer

Thanks for your reply Catalyst. Any help is much appreciated.

So potentially I could set up a LOC of  90% of 425k less what is owing on the loan  = 27,500

And use this as a LOC to cover deposit/legals on IP.

So my next newbie question is, what would the LMI amount be on borrowing 90% of PPOR and would it be worth doing?

Cheers,

Profile photo of TheFinanceShopTheFinanceShop
    Participant
    @thefinanceshop