All Topics / Finance / lending capacity + advice.

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of alterego44alterego44
    Participant
    @alterego44

hi guys.

Myself (22) and my brother(25) recently inherited a house with no debt attached. Valued at around $350,000.

We both work full time as subcontractors.

The dream is to lend against the house and build an investment property Or properties.

I am a carpenter and was hoping to employ myself as an owner builder?( is this even possible?) and if so what could we expect to hear from a bank in terms of loan amount and terms and conditions?

We are just beginning our research on what exactly to do with the opportunity we have been given and I’m a real newbie at this so any advice on how you would go about lending in this situation would help so much!

Thanks for reading! :)

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

Hi Alterego

Firstly welcome to the forum and I hope you enjoy your time with us.

Nice position to find yourself in although sorry to hear about the family loss.

Structured correctly there is no reason why you cannot both use this as an excellent launching pad to set yourselves up for the future.

Without firm numbers it is difficult to comment with a degree of precision buy i would be probably look at an equity loan secured against the property and use these funds to cover your owner builder deposit or access to credit to allow you purchase materials, pay other contractors etc.

No reason why you couldn't then look at a separate loan for the land and gear accordingly.

Check out whether there is a limit in your State as to the number of properties you can owner build in any one year but as i say a combination of owner building and acquiring cash flow properties should set you up for the long term.

Cheers

Yours in Finance

Richard Taylor | Australia's leading private lender

Profile photo of TheFinanceShopTheFinanceShop
    Participant