All Topics / Help Needed! / What can I do to improve my situation and become an investor? Case study

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of Ryan CRyan C
    @ryan-c

Hi All,

I am a newbie with a plan to get into property investing and buy my first investment property by 2014. 

I am currently educating myself as much as I can through books, CDs, seminars, forums etc. 

In the meanwhile, I want to save/increase equity and maximise my borrowing capacity by next year.

I was hoping y'all can help and provide me some feedback on my situation and what I should do.

• I currently have a mortgage on my 3 bedroom,2 bathroom, single garage unit which is my PPOR.  I bought it established 3 years ago and it hasn't increased in value.
    • My property was purchased for around $300k with $260k left to pay. My monthly repayment is about $1600.
    • It is in Truganina, Victoria, Melbourne's western suburbs, located 25 kms from the CBD. There is PLENTY of land and new housing development around. 
    • My house is another "me too" with plenty like it for sale or for lease in the area.  I would say the locals are of the lower socio-demographic.

I would probably make a small loss, break even at best, if I sold.  I could expect to receive about $280-300 per week if I rented it out.

I make between $80-100k per annum, single income, one dependant.  I can expect to save about $8k per year if I continue what I am doing.

Here are my options I know of to increase my saving until next year.

1. SELL my PPOR and then rent a place to live for about $250 per week.
    2. RENT OUT my PPOR and then rent a place to live for $250 per week.  (I was told theres tax breaks to this)
    3. Stay in my PPOR and continue saving/paying down my mortgage.

Thank you for your help and responses!

On a side note, could anyone recommend a consultant/advisor/planner I could talk to about my situation and plan in greater detail?

Profile photo of Corey BattCorey Batt