All Topics / Help Needed! / Tips for a 1st time strategy please :)

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of stevecommathestevecommathe
    @stevecommathe

Hi All,

Been a long time reader over the past few months and have finally started to settle into a strategy.

Would appreciate any feedback on things that I've missed, and any advice you could give to a 1st timer!

So, my current situation is:

I'm a small business owner, which means that each year I have a take home income of ~$120k and then about $80k in "profit" which ends up staying in the business as operating capital. I have to pay the tax on the $80k, but can't touch it to ensure bus. cashflow.

To the ATO, it looks like I make $200k PA.

Current Rent – $500 p/week

Monthly Savings – $3.5k

Current Savings ~75k cash/stock

What I'm thinking about doing is:

– getting an IP apartment in an inner west suburb in Sydney (Enmore, Camperdown) priced at $400-500k

– getting an IO loan for the place

– *fingers crossed* that there's strong capital growth over the next 5-7 years

– In about year 3, I plan to buy a PPOR and then move into that.

– I would be looking for an established property, on a quiet street which has good long term capital growth. 

– Expecting rental gross yields to be ~4%

– Don't expect to be claiming much depreciation on any fittings/furnishings.

– I'm a first time buyer, with access to "new homes" FHOG, however I'm not keen to buy off the plan.

– I plan to use the money that I have in my business to park in the off-set account of my IO loan to reduce monthly loan repayments. This to me feels like paying off the loan (interest reduction)… without having to pay off the loan. I can then just move the cash back and forth each month (interest on bus. accounts is only ~3%).

A couple of questions: