All Topics / Help Needed! / New property or old for rental investment??

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Profile photo of knewgirl2012knewgirl2012
    @knewgirl2012

Hi  all, I am wanting to build up my investment portfolio. Had previously thought about buying older cheaper homes, renovating and renting them out. Have now been thinking about the advantages of buying a new home from a newly developed estate and renting that out. My opinion is that the costs would be about the same with the added advantage of not having to renovate (i have no experience and minimal skills in that area). Have been looking at some the newly built homes on some estates. Some come with a clause that the streetscape is also monitored and looked after which as an investor, I find a bonus. I am still in the research stage of this at the moment.

Would be very interested to hear from others what their thoughts are. Thanks in advance …

Profile photo of Jacqui MiddletonJacqui Middleton
    Participant
    @jacm

Hi there

If the streetscape is monitored, it is done so at your cost.  Some of the new estates these days…. the entire estate is declared a body corporate and there is an annual body corporate fee.  Yay for you, you get to pay for the maintenance of the footpaths, streetlights, etc… which I thought was covered by your council rates so I guess in a new estate you are paying twice.

Older homes are often on larger blocks which allow you more scope to add improvements.

Jacqui Middleton | Middleton Buyers Advocates
    http://www.middletonbuyersadvocates.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

VIC Buyers' Agents for investors, home buyers & SMSFs.

Profile photo of knewgirl2012knewgirl2012
    @knewgirl2012

Thanks JacM,

As you have said about the "streetscape"  is an extra fee..

I am trying to balance the convenience of the new estate against buying an older house and renovating,at the moment..any thoughts?

Participant
    @jacm

Hi again