All Topics / Help Needed! / How to turn negative gearing into positive gearing

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of davidtsdavidts
    @davidts

Hi all wonderful people,

I am pretty new to property investing. However, I have a IP which I purchased 2 years ago for $440K, and an IO mortgage of $400K. The rental income does not cover the repayments, not by much, but that's ok as I am in the 40% income tax bracket and the negative gearing helps with my tax.

I recently had the property valued and it came in at $500K. Now I have equity in it and I am thinking of taking the equity out to purchase maybe 1 or 2 very cheap IP, assuming I can borrow upto 90%.

My question is, if I am forever leveraging off my IP to purchase more IP I will be forever negative gearing. How do I change this positive gearing so that I have CF+? Eventually I want to live off the CF+.

Thanks.

Profile photo of DerekDerek
    @derek
    davidts wrote:
    My question is, if I am forever leveraging off my IP to purchase more IP I will be forever negative gearing. How do I change this positive gearing so that I have CF+? Eventually I want to live off the CF+.Thanks.

A couple of quick comments.

Rents will rise at some stage in the future at which your existing property will become positive.

If you purchase positively geared property or can make a property positive through improvements and increased rental returns you may find that your new properties are positive and positive to such an extent that they help offset any losses on your existing property.

PS – good result on your existing IP in this market – a great launching pad to build upon your existing property

Profile photo of TheFinanceShopTheFinanceShop
    Participant
    @thefinanceshop

Hi David,