All Topics / Help Needed! / First IP in Perth / Advice Needed

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of thanh90thanh90
    @thanh90

Hey Everyone,

I am looking to purchase my first investment property in Perth (because i live here).

I am new at this and would love to get all advice as possible.

I can only afford to spend $200,000 – $400,000 and hopefully a area where someone will rent it.

Does anybody know where to invest that will make a really good capital gain?

I will be taking a mortgage out with my partner, together we earn about 70,000-80,000

Also after the property is bought and someone is renting it, do we sell the property when it's higher than we bought it for and use the profit to invest again and so forth, or do we keep paying off the mortgage and then use the rent as a income? (hence that will take 20-30 years to pay off the rent, so I wont be getting the benefits until i pay it off, right?).

Sorry if these seem like obvious questions, I am just new at this and would love all the help i can get. 

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi Tanh

Welcome aboard.

I think you need to take a step back and invest more time in educating yourself about property investing before jumping in.

Do some reading – there's heaps of good books out there as well as free resources like this forum.

After a few weeks you'll probably be able to answer your own questions.

Cheers

Jamie

Jamie Moore | Pass Go Home Loans Pty Ltd
    http://www.passgo.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

Mortgage Broker assisting clients Australia wide Email: [email protected]

Profile photo of thanh90thanh90
    @thanh90

Thanks for the tip Jamie.

But would you know any good suburbs I can look at for investment for about 200-400k?

Profile photo of RyanJDRyanJD
    @ryanjd

depends on the terms good and what you are personally looking for.

Higher rents, more capital gains, future potential land development etc.